UCAS tariff confirmed for Cambridge Pre-U

23 December 2008

Cambridge Pre-U, an alternative to A Level being offered by schools in both the maintained and independent sectors, has now been awarded UCAS points.

Unlike A Levels, the Cambridge Pre-U grading scale is divided into three bands; Distinction, Merit and Pass, each of which is sub-divided into three grades (Distinction 1, Distinction 2, Distinction 3 and so on). A Distinction 2 grade (roughly aligned to A* at A Level) will earn 145 UCAS points, Distinction 3 (benchmarked to the standard required for an A grade at A Level) will earn 130, and 46 points for a Pass 3 (benchmarked to the border between E and U at A Level). The tariff for a Distinction 1 pass will be announced after the first Cambridge Pre-U examination entries have been assessed in 2010.

The qualification has been developed by Cambridge International Examinations which is part of the Cambridge Assessment Group. 

Research Matters

Research Matters is our free biannual publication which allows us to share our assessment research, in a range of fields, with the wider assessment community.

Research Matters 32 promo image

Media contacts

Contact our press and Public Affairs office

Tel:  +44 (0)1223 556018 
Email: press@cambridge.org